Recreating family history one piece at a time.

My Granny’s brother has always been a big of a mystery.   He has been tied up in family legend that the facts have neither been able to support or refute. The legend about Jimmy Duncan is that he died in Pearl Harbor.    That is the whole story, no more details to be told.

Granny never supplied any additional information no matter how often or how I worded my questions.   I had found him on the 1930 census and from that managed to determine his birth year and gotten a copy of his birth certificate.    Jimmy was one year younger than my Granny, but in all the pictures I saw of Granny as a young girl there was only her mother and her younger sister.    Never the father or the her brother.    When my Granny passed away I got a photo of my Granny when she was been somewhere between age five and ten. In this picture there was also her brother and father!  It is the only images I have of them.  Photos always make people so much more real.

I have been working with this limited information for years.    Jimmy was never showing in the high school year book with his sister, even though they were one year apart.  He was just gone.    Finally I met up with a man who was the son of my Nanny (Granny’s mother) foster brother.    He remembered once when Nanny visited them in that the adults were talking in hushed tones about her visiting someone in prison.   I was again off and running contacting Oklahoma corrections looking for either of the missing men in my family.    That never got any response.  One of the many frustrations of research.   No response to a SASE, not even to say we don’t do this kind of thing.

I had combed all the Pearl Harbor records looking for Jimmy.   I had contacted Veteran’s Affairs, National Personnel Records and the National Archives looking for for a hit with the information I had.   It always came back as not found. When the 1940 census records were made available 2012, I hit a jackpot.   Jimmy was indeed in the military in 1940 and was stationed as a private in Hawaii.   So as in all legends, there was that element of truth in the story I had been told.   I had some more information on James M Duncan, Jr.  and was off and running again.  Once again it was not found. I spent time researching his military group and looking for details online, and confirmed what I already knew, so much of what I want is not online.   You can not get everything via Google contrary to popular belief.

I always watch and read about additional historic records being index or made available to the public.   It is a slow and expensive process.  Not really a priority item, until some news report about archived records being stolen because they are basically just piled up because we don’t have resources to property index and store them.     I had recently read an article about how some of the records damaged in the 1973 fire were being reevaluated for preservation with newer technology to save and access these records.   So I figured what the heck try again and submitted my request again.   I got home from work to discover I had a letter from the National Personnel Records Center and it was asking for money.    The fee was for $70 so there are at least six pages available on Jimmy.

I have written my check and done my mighty expensive happy dance.  Now I wait.   The lesson from this is time does change what is available.   Don’t be afraid to ask again.    It also reminds me of what an expensive hobby this can be.

Comments on: "Just Because the Answer Was No Yesterday Doesn’t Mean It is Today" (2)

  1. I hope you get your money’s worth and more.

  2. Dianna L Ezzy said:

    The creative time and energy you put into your family history is not just a “hobby”, it is an invaluable resource for future generations. I would love to come across any tidbit of information that would help me build a history for my family of the upcoming generations. I want them to know and love the family they came from.

Leave a Reply

