Recreating family history one piece at a time.

DNA

I have struggled with the whole DNA thing and tracing your family roots.  Mostly because I am a privacy freak.   The best historical DNA comes from a man and I can’t imagine asking my brother to take a DNA, even if I paid for it.   Besides the privacy it still largely an expensive undertaking to do right.

I on the other hand am somewhat fascinated by my Virtue side of the family.   Mostly because they are in Ireland for one generation and no one, including Ralph who actually got talk to many of the children of James our immigrant never found a prior generation.   Now with all the wonderful historical records being made available, this is still a dead end.   DNA probably isn’t going to answer some great question because by in large I am descendant of people of Northern European origin.   Much of my family has been in the US  for many generations, some prior to the American revolution on both paternal and maternal side, so those folks have likely commingled diverse genetic backgrounds.

On the other hand there may be some ethnic factors that show up that will not make any sense to my 30 years of research.   Wouldn’t that be a kick in the pants to discover that there were some significant indicators to show I have Southern European roots.   Nothing in my research indicates that to be the case.   Then again maybe some of my ancestors only were in their Northern European country for a generation before immigrating to the US.

I am blogging about this because Ancestry just recently developed a test that is suppose to work well for even females, and they did an introductory special for $100.   Best of all they do allow you to opt out of pooling your data for research, statistics, etc.   I am not fooling myself that if there is a way to make a buck with my DNA someone will, but the actual ability to opt out will hopefully not let some insurance company find out my stuff that is none of their business in my lifetime.   Nor am I expecting my history to be as good if I asked my brother to do one of the more expensive tests, but that $100 price tag and the ability for them to acknowledge I am opting out threw me over the line.

I have my kit here and am going to gather my specimen and send it off today.   Six to eight weeks from now I will hopefully have something to share that will make for some interesting reading for those of you have wondered about the DNA and family history.

Comments on: "DNA" (1)

  1. Interested to read your post because I struggle with this also. So far one person in my extended family that I know have has done the DNA test, but I still feel wary about having it outside of our control.

Leave a Reply

